Buildout’s Document Sharing feature allows you to display documents and other content on individual property websites, set restrictions on how visitors can access that content, and view insights for those contacts’ activity.
The Sharing tab allows you to choose which of your documents, folders, or uploaded content appears on your property website and what level of access is required to view them. Private documents aren’t displayed on your property website (and neither are documents in Specific Users) but anything moved to the Public or Locked columns will be.
You can drag and drop a document or folder from one column to another to set its access level. If you move a folder, all content within that folder will follow the sharing rules of that column. Remember to organize your folders on the Docs tab first as you can’t drop documents into folders from the Sharing tab.
Document Sharing Options
By default, all uploaded or created documents for the property appear here. If the content is in this column, it can only be viewed by you and other users in your company with permission to view this property. Private documents are not displayed on the website.
Content in this column will be displayed on the Documents tab of your property website. If a Document is Public, any website visitors will be able to view and download this content directly. Visitor activity will only be tracked for users who are logged into Buildout.
All content will display on the Documents tab of your website in the same order it appears in the Public column of the Sharing section. You can drag and drop content to change its position in the Sharing column.
One document in the Public column can be selected as your Primary document, indicated by the star icon. A button to download this document will appear on the Overview tab of the website in addition to the Documents tab. Enabling this setting for a document also allows you to send a download button directly via the Email Editor. Folders cannot be marked as Primary.
When content is added to this column, it will appear on the Documents tab of your property website with a lock icon. Visitors to your website will be prompted to create or log in to a Buildout Sharing account in order to view locked content. These accounts are how Buildout gathers emails and measures activity from visitors to your web plugin.
You can customize how these Locked documents function using the Settings menu. There are two main options for controlling access to these documents: Confidentiality Agreements and Approval.
If you require a Confidentiality Agreement, you'll have a space to input your specific language (but we've provided standard copy too), and anybody who downloads that document will need to electronically sign the agreement.
If you require Approval, an email notification will trigger whenever someone attempts to download, and they won't gain access until you've approved each user individually.
Once a broker has been approved, they will receive an automatic email from Buildout with a link to view the locked documents.
If you want to display certain documents toward specific clients on your website, you can add those documents to the Specific Users column. Content in this column functions the same as Locked content except you can select exactly who is able to view each document.
When a document is moved into this column, the Add User button will appear along with a count of how many users have been added to that document. Once you've hit this button, you can delete users by clicking the red X.
Users granted access to documents in the Specific Users column will still be required to log in to or create a Buildout Sharing account in order to view these documents.
Configure what “Locked” means for your documents and affects all content in the Locked and Specific Users columns in the Settings tab in Sharing. The default settings for Sharing allows visitors to your website instant access to shared documents without signing a Confidentially Agreement and have all activity notifications turned on for every broker listed on the property.
When viewing this section for an available property for both Sale and Lease, you will need to save each area independently using the “Save Changes” button at the bottom of each area.
Instant Access is the default option for Sharing and allows visitors to view the content on your website as soon as they’ve signed into a Buildout Sharing account.
When Waitlist Access is enabled for Document Sharing, visitors will receive a notification after logging in to access your content that says confirmation is required. Their profiles will be added to the Leads tab where permission can be granted and revoked per user by any Buildout user with permission to edit the property.
You will then receive a notification that a new visitor is awaiting approval to view the property’s documents. Anyone with permission to edit the property in Buildout can approve or revoke visitors’ access to locked documents.
Learn how to approve or revoke access when Waitlist Access is enabled here.
Checking this box will require visitors to execute a Confidentially Agreement before viewing locked content on your website. You can learn more about updating the text of your Confidentially Agreement and setting a company default Confidentially Agreement here.
Activity Notifications are sent via email to selected members of your team based on the following actions taken by a visitor to your website who has logged in to a Buildout Sharing account.
Receive a notification anytime a new or returning visitor to your site downloads one of your documents to view.
This alert setting generates the largest number of email notifications and is our first recommendation to disable if you feel you’re seeing too many but can be very helpful on low-traffic properties.
If the setting is selected to require clients to execute a Confidentially Agreement before viewing your docs, this alert will send a notification whenever a new visitor to your website electronically signs a Confidentially Agreement.
Broker approval required
When Waitlist Access is enabled, this setting sends a notification that a new visitor is awaiting approval to view the property’s documents. Anyone with permission to edit the property in Buildout can approve or revoke visitors’ access to shared documents.
By default, all brokers listed on a property are added to all Activity Notifications but more email accounts can be added or removed and each individual’s notification settings can be configured separately. There is not a minimum amount of Buildout users required for Activity Notifications so this can be set to not send any emails whatsoever.
Leads and Web Activity
Track how often documents are accessed on your website. All of the data in both the Web Activity and Leads tab of your listing can be searched and sorted for easy viewing. It can also be downloaded as CSV files for manual import into email providers or CRM platforms.
Clicking on a row of data brings up an overview for the associated user. From here, you can update your contact’s profile information, view their activity for the property, invite them to view docs, and review their signed Confidentially Agreement, if applicable.
The Web Activity section displays a log of all document downloads and all signatures of confidentiality agreements. Interactions are timestamped so you can compare them with other marketing efforts, such as social media posts or email blasts.
The Leads tab includes the list of users who have logged in to access your documents on the website. This data can be used to gauge the specific interest and actions taken by visitors on each individual property website. Click here for an overview of Buildout's lead functionality.
Note: This feature replaces the Document Vault in the Docs tab with the Sharing tab and also enables folder functionality. To get the most out of Doc Sharing, you can learn more about folders in our Docs Tab Folders Feature Overview.