The Recycle Bin contains items that were deleted. Salesforce administrators can see all deleted data across the entire org. The Recycle Bin is available in the left sidebar on the Home page in Salesforce Classic. That being said, only an administrator will have access to this feature.
Viewing Items in the Recycle Bin
Initially we want to locate the recycling bin within the Salesforce Classic. Please refer to the image below.
You'll have two options in the View picklist menu. The first option is to view all of your deleted items (My Recycle Bin). Admins and users with the “Modify All Data” permission can choose the (All Recycle Bin) option. This will allow you to view all data that has been deleted for the entire org. In Personal Edition, the All Recycle Bin option shows all deleted items.
Searching for Items in the Recycle Bin
Choose My Recycle Bin or All Recycle Bin. My Recycle Bin search will only show the items you have deleted. Next to the picklist you'll find a search bar, enter your search terms. Each word you input is treated as separate words with an implied AND between them. Meaning if you input two words it will only seek results that contain both those words and not provide results for any other possibilities. For instance, searching for bob jones returns items with bob and jones together but not bob smith whose email address is email@example.com. Searches look for matches in the field displayed for the Name column of the Recycle Bin such as lead Name, Case Number, Contract Number, or Product Name. These are some points to consider if by any chance you can find an item you have searched for.
Restore Items in the Recycle Bin
There is also an option to restore items by checking the check box next to any listed item, then clicking the Undelete button in the navigation bar (depicted below).
Another aspect worth mentioning is given the case that if both a parent and child record are erased. If the child record is restored then that parent record will also be restored the list below depicts relationships this may affect.
- Parent accounts (as specified in the Parent Account field on an account)
- Indirect account-contact relationships (as specified on the Related Accounts related list on
- a contact or the Related Contacts related list on an account)
- Parent cases (as specified in the Parent Case field on a case)
- Master solutions for translated solutions (as specified in the Master Solution field on a solution)
- Managers of contacts (as specified in the Reports To field on a contact)
- Products related to assets (as specified in the Product field on an asset)
- Opportunities related to quotes (as specified in the Opportunity field on a quote)
- All custom lookup relationships
- Relationship group members on accounts and relationship groups, with some exceptions
- An article's categories, publication state, and assignments
How to permanently erase all the items in Recycle Bin
Once you deleted items they remain in the recycle bin for 15 days, and can be restored during that time. however, if you wish to permanently remove your deleted items before the 15-day period, an administrators and users with the “Modify All Data” permission, can do so. All you have to do is click the Empty your Recycle Bin or Empty your organization’s Recycle Bin button. Most importantly, please note that once these items are purged from the recycle bin they can’t be recovered.
Recycle Bin is Coming to Salesforce Lightning Experience
Coming soon in Fall 2019, the Salesforce recycle bin feature will be accessible through the Lightning Experience. If you would like to know more information or details on the subject check out the Salesforce Release Notes.
Please reach out to Product Support (firstname.lastname@example.org) if you have any questions about [Recover Data with the Recycle Bin].